Not God – FAITH is difficult

After last night’s post, I gather the concept of “God being difficult” is one with which people struggle…

After visiting the neurologist’s office this morning, I’ll go back to the question of whether it is God that is difficult or whether it is faith that is difficult. Obviously, from the title of this post, I think it is faith!

Learning some of the things I did this morning about Drew’s Tourette’s Syndrome, I drove to work very slowly and in a roundabout direction (I’ll make up the time tomorrow!). While driving, I was praying and struggling.

But while I didn’t get any answers, I was again struck by the fact that God loves Drew. God has placed him in this country where he can get help. He’s given him a wonderful mother and a loving sister. Family and friends are supportive. Church is supportive. School is supportive. He (and we) are blessed by all of these things.

But this world isn’t perfect.

That’s where a Christ-follower and someone who doesn’t follow Jesus would differ. An atheist doesn’t have that hope that Someone greater than his or her self is in control. A Christ follower keeps hope in God – who can give wisdom, guidance and strength.

So anyway…

Even if Drew didn’t have Tourette’s, we still live in a fallen world. There are still issues. With his Tourette’s, we are just starting to climb a difficult mountain. This is the trial and error stage and we are learning what we need and how to go forward. 

But we’re walking the path.

Even if it is difficult at times, we still know that God is good. Even if we struggle with the “why” questions, we still know that He loves us.

And we’ll keep praying for His direction. We are His. Thanks for your prayers.

Yours in Christ,
Marty

4 thoughts on “Not God – FAITH is difficult

  1. “God loves Drew. God has placed him in this country where he can get help”

    Does that mean you think your god does not love the disabled he puts into countries that can not help them, or in families that resent them or treat them very poorly?

    1. What an interesting way to interpret the post…

      To answer your question, no, to both parts. I simply feel blessed that we live here. Long story not told, we could have easily lived in another country where this particular condition may not have been diagnosed or he may not have had the same environment for treatment options.

      That being said, I know from my time spent in other countries and working with those in difficult situations that God is able to do remarkable things. I’ve seen God provide families for orphans, food for the starving, supplies for the homeless and blessings for the mourning. I give Him the credit and praise.

Leave a comment