And here is the reason…

For our radio program, I taped a segment to air the day after Thanksgiving (11/28). We played some Christmas music and I read some passages of the birth of Jesus. It wasn’t fancy, but it was a blessing to read through the passages out loud and hear some of the variations.

I thought of that again as I looked at Luke 2:1-7. There are some different aspects that Matthew and Luke share. Being a bit more “Type A,” the historicity and details that Luke provides connect with me a bit more. However, the ‘personal’ side of Matthew (Joseph’s honor and courage) is also such a blessing.

Because I believe that the Bible is the inspired Word of God, I find it wonderful that God allowed these men (writing under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit) to ‘tell the story’ from their own perspective.

And, this morning as I think over the past year, I feel so blessed that God has allowed LRM to serve Him for more than five decades. For those of you not familiar with a Celebration (also called: lay renewal, lay witness mission, covenant faith mission, etc…), a team of people from different churches and even states will come to a church and share their faith stories. The bottom line message is always the same – a life changed by a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.

It’s the telling of the story that is always so different. One person may have heard of Christ through a friend. Another may have been raised in a church and made a profession that way. Sometimes it is a big event – sometimes a one-on-one encounter. Each person then shares what that difference has made in their lives and how they are trying to live out their faith today.

I love that God allows each of us to have our own story. I think it is awesome that He calls us to Him in so many ways.

But then I think about the end of verse seven and, in particular, the words “there was no room.” I’ve met many people who hear the knock, but resolutely refuse to listen or open their hearts. I’ve prayed for those who reject the Message. I’ve wept for those who, like Herod, are so caught up in the trappings of this world, that they fight and scorn those who choose to walk with Him.

But Jesus still came.

Jesus still loves.

Jesus still calls.

This Christmas season, I pray that you will hear the angels singing:

Glory to God in the highest, and on earth

peace to men on whom His favor rests.

I pray that you will hear the knock and open to let Him in.

Yours in Christ,
Marty

Leave a comment