General Tourette’s Update

It’s been a bit, so I thought I would update on Drew’s Tourette’s. (Find older posts by clicking on the sidebar.)

Adjusting to middle school has been an interesting journey. There are a lot of fantastic blessings that have occurred in the last 6 weeks. Drew enjoys the new school and has made several new friends while still hanging out with old classmates.

Of course, we have had those “bumps” that are frustrating. Because Drew is an energetic and engaging person, it can confuse a person when he suddenly goes into a series of tics. Teachers and students alike are learning but I’m still befuddled at the reactions of adults sometimes. Not only do they not understand how to handle it, some think he is faking. Why would someone fake TS?  Mom and dad handle it in different ways of course, but I won’t elaborate on that.  

(On a funny, but not-funny note: I realize that perhaps I say “You can’t fix stupid” a bit too much. My precocious and wonderful daughter used it the other day with a VERY big grin on her face…)

There’s a lot of private stuff that’s been happening that I won’t put on the blog. Your prayers are appreciated as we continue to seek God’s wisdom and direction. Our lives are His and we pray for His direction in our steps.

Yours in Christ,
Marty

Leave a comment